Sign up for updates. Be part of our community.

CSL Research Acceleration Initiative

Fast-track discovery of innovative biotherapies

Science Center Lab Tech
Commercialize

About

CSL’s Research Acceleration Initiative aims to fast track discovery of innovative biotherapies through partnerships between CSL and global research organizations. These partnerships provide funding and access to industry experts for scientists working on novel biotherapeutic strategies in CSL’s therapeutic areas.

Successful applicants will receive up to $400k over 2 years. Researchers who wish to apply are required to submit a non-confidential, 300 word online abstract by 23rd February 2023.

Apply now

Interested researchers are invited to join an online information session to learn more.

Webinars will be held on:

  • Wednesday 25th January
    • 1pm ET/ 12pm CT/ 11am MT/ 10am PT, OR
  • Monday 6th February
    • 4pm ET/ 3pm CT/ 2pm MT/ 1pm PT.

For webinar links and online application instructions, please contact your Tech Transfer office or email RAI@csl.com.au.

Applications accepted through February 23, 2023

Areas of Interest for Collaboration

The 2023 Research Acceleration Initiative will focus on innovative research projects that address unmet medical needs and are aligned with CSL’s Therapeutic Areas and scientific Platforms.

Please download the flyer for specific details of focus areas for 2023.

Immunology

Immune deficiencies
Primary immune deficiency gene therapy and targets

Autoimmune diseases
(e.g. Primary Sjögren’s syndrome, systemic sclerosis, inflammatory idiopathic myopathies incl. dermatomyositis, autoimmune blistering diseases)

Therapeutic strategies for autoimmune diseases
Novel immunomodulatory strategies targeting cytokines, chemokines, modulatory proteins and TNF family members
• B cell depletion / regulation strategies

Alternatives to plasma-derived immunoglobulin / Recombinant IVIg

Hematology

Hemorrhagic and acute ischemic stroke
Novel biologic targets/therapeutics or strategies to understand pathomechanisms
• Biomarker/Omics approaches for patient stratification and drug discovery

Acute thrombosis (venous and arterial thrombosis)​
Novel therapies/approaches for targeted fibrinolysis/thrombolysis with increased efficacy and safety

Sickle cell disease
Prophylactic therapies to reduce vaso occlusive crises and chronic vasculopathy

Respiratory

Asthma
(severe, uncontrolled)

Chronic obstructive pulmonary disease
(exacerbations)

Non-cystic fibrosis bronchiectasis


Interstitial lung diseases

(progressive fibrosing)

Community acquired pneumonia (CAP)-associated complications

(acute respiratory distress syndrome, sepsis, acute kidney injury)

Cardiovascular & Metabolic

Myocarditis

Dilated cardiomyopathy
Inflammatory etiologies

Severe forms of atherosclerosis
Inflammatory targets/candidates

Rare lipid disorders
(e.g. homozygous familial hypercholesterolemia)

Transplant

Chronic lung allograft dysfunction
Including prevention, antibody mediated rejection, tolerance, immunomodulation, biomarkers, animal models

Hematopoietic stem cell transplant (HSCT)

Treatment and prevention of acute and chronic GvHD, tolerance, immunomodulation, improving efficacy / safety of HSCT

Cardiovascular allograft vasculopathy
Treatment and animal models

Ischemia reperfusion injury
Prevention

Vaccines

mRNA and lipid nanoparticle platform
Innovative research addressing improved delivery, formulation, stabilization (5 C / room temperature), shelf life extension and manufacturing technologies

Influenza virus antigen purity and yield enhancement
Innovative research with potential to impact yield and purity of influenza virus HA antigen produced in MDCK cell culture

Proven adjuvant technology
Partnerships with our proprietary adjuvant MF59®

Cell & Gene Therapy

  • In vivo kill switch or suicide switch
  • Modulation of transgene expression in vivo
  • Novel methods to select gene modified HSCs
  • Novel therapeutic gene therapy targets aligned with CSL’s Therapeutic Areas
  • Non viral in vivo delivery of RNPs
  • Alternative mRNA delivery methods

Plasma & Recombinant Technologies

  • Oral delivery of biologics
  • Protein purification technologies
  • Bioprocess improvements
  • MDCK cell culture yield improvements

Why Collaborate with CSL?

Global capabilities on your doorstep.

Work with one of the world’s leading biotech companies.

Funding for successful proposals.

Access to commercial R&D, clinical, intellectual property, marketing and manufacturing expertise.

Accelerate translation of your research to deliver new therapies to patients.

About CSL

CSL is a leading global biotech company that develops and delivers innovative biotherapies to help people living with life-threatening medical conditions live full lives.

More about CSL

Contact Information

Dr. Perdita Cheshire
Director, Research Innovation
Perdita.Cheshire@cslbehring.com

For further information including how to apply, contact us at: RAI@csl.com.au

Or visit csl.com/csl-rai

Get Started

Contact us to discuss how we can customize a unique roadmap for your needs.

Reach out
An older gentleman wearing a baseball hat smiles as he has a conversation with two women about work development.