Sign up for updates. Be part of our community.

U.S. Secretary of Commerce Reappoints University City Science Center CEO to Advisory Council to Help Expand Entrepreneurship and Promote American Innovation

WASHINGTON – (September 19, 2016) -- U.S. Secretary of Commerce Penny Pritzker today announced the appointment of University City Science Center President & CEO Stephen S. Tang, Ph.D., MBA, and 29 private sector, nonprofit, and academic leaders to serve on the National Advisory Council on Innovation and Entrepreneurship (NACIE). Selected from a pool of more than 200 accomplished applicants, the council members will offer recommendations for policies and programs designed to make U.S. communities, businesses, and the workforce more globally competitive.

“The members of NACIE provide important counsel to the Department of Commerce on the types of federal policies that will support entrepreneurship, innovation, and job-driven workforce training, all of which are critical to American competitiveness,” said Secretary Pritzker. “As ‘America’s Innovation Agency,’ we value the expertise of our private sector partners and appreciate the opportunity to incorporate their views into our policymaking process.”

Established in 2010, NACIE operates as an independent entity managed through the Office of Innovation and Entrepreneurship, which is housed in the U.S. Department of Commerce’s Economic Development Administration.

“I am deeply honored to be reappointed to NACIE – and to serve as co-chair of this important Commerce Department initiative. Innovation and entrepreneurship lie at the heart of the U.S. economy,” says the Science Center’s Steve Tang. “Having the opportunity to continue to shape Federal policy in these crucial areas is a privilege. I look forward to bringing the experience of NACIE 2.0 to bear as we begin NACIE 3.0, and then continue and expand our work through the transition to a new Administration and beyond.”

NACIE members, who will each serve a two-year term, have demonstrated expertise and experience in the areas of innovation, entrepreneurship, and employer-driven talent development. In reviewing applications, the Office of Innovation and Entrepreneurship sought a diverse group of nationally recognized leaders representing different demographics, organization size, industry sector, and geographic regions to provide a balanced viewpoint on these issues. NACIE will convene four times each year, with its inaugural meeting scheduled for October 2016.

Now in its third membership cycle, NACIE members appointed today — in addition to Steve Tang — are:

  • Rebecca O. Bagley – Vice Chancellor Economic Partnerships at University of Pittsburgh
  • Esther M. Baldwin – Director of Innovation at Intel
  • Brian J. Bartholomeusz – Executive Director, TomKat Center for Sustainable Energy at Stanford University
  • Heather Boesch – Director of Business Operations at IDEO
  • Trey Bowles – Cofounder at The Dallas Innovation Alliance (DIA) and CEO at The Dallas Entrepreneur Center
  • Melissa L. Bradley (Co-chair) Director, AU Center for Innovation in the Capital
  • Kathryn Finney – Founder and Managing Director at digitalundivided
  • Scott Frederick – Development Partner & Head of Federal at New Enterprise Associates
  • Kara Goldin – Founder & CEO at Hint Inc.
  • Julie K. Goonewardene* – Associate Vice Chancellor for Innovation and Strategic Investment, University of Texas System
  • Orin Herskowitz – Executive Director, Vice President of Intellectual Property and Tech Transfer at Columbia Technology Ventures, Columbia University
  • Richard A. Johnson – Associate Vice President at Kentucky Science and Technology Corporation
  • Joseph Kapp – Entrepreneur in Residence at Eastern WV Community & Technical College and CEO at Behavioral Business, LLC
  • David S. Kenney* – President & Executive Director at Oregon BEST
  • Pradeep K. Khosla – Chancellor at University of California, San Diego
  • Marie Trzupek Lynch* – CEO at Skills for Chicagoland’s Future
  • Mike Nemeth –Founder & CEO, S3 Planning
  • Andrew D. Reamer – Research Professor at George Washington University
  • Emily Reichert – CEO at Greentown Labs
  • Joseph L. Schocken – President at Broadmark Capital, LLC
  • Sue Griffith Smith – Vice President Technology and Applied Science at Ivy Tech Community College
  • Whitney S. Smith – Executive Director – Midwest, Global Philanthropy at JPMorgan Chase
  • Tiffany M. Stevenson – Vice President, Talent Management & Development at Sephora USA, Inc.
  • Stephen S. Tang* (Co-chair) President & CEO, University City Science Center
  • Eric J. Toone – Vice Provost & Director, Innovation and Entrepreneurship at Duke University
  • Howard A. Tullman – CEO at 1871 and General Managing Partner at Chicago High Tech Investment Partners, LLC
  • Maribel Perez Wadsworth – Senior Vice President & Chief Strategy Officer at Gannett Company Inc.
  • Tiffany J. Wilson* – Executive Director at Global Center for Medical Innovation
  • Chad Womack – Director, STEM Initiatives at United Negro College Fund (UNCF)
  • Andrew Yang – Founder and CEO at Venture for America

* reappointed member

To learn more about the National Advisory Council on Innovation and Entrepreneurship, visit

About the Science Center

Located in the heart of uCity Square, the University City Science Center is a dynamic hub for innovation, and entrepreneurship and technology development in the Greater Philadelphia region. Founded in 1963 as the nation’s first urban research park, it provides business incubation, programming, lab and office facilities, and support services for entrepreneurs, start-ups, and growing and established companies. Graduate firms and current residents of the Science Center’s business incubator support one out of every 100 jobs in Greater Philadelphia and drive $12.9 billion in economic activity in the region annually. For more information about the Science Center, go to

Media Contact:

Kristen Fitch

Kristen Fitch

Senior Director, Marketing